top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaren Anita Davis

My Family Tree

One day Rita and James were on the farm for visit from their homes out of state. It was 25 or more years ago (that's hard to believe). Mother was leaving to go over to my cousin's house to help with housecleaning and laundry. Off-handedly, she remarked as she out the back door, pointing to a wall in the kitchen that held family pictures: "How 'bout you two paint a family tree on that wall?"


The oldest and youngest sibling took on the challenge. They removed the pictures, found some paints, Sharpie pens and went to work. When Mother returned a few hours later, she saw the overwhelming results of request. It was a painting that was worked on for the entire Christmas holiday that year and continues to receive updates and some "finishing" touches even to today.



We need to add some pictures to Krysty's limb including Mother's first great-grandchild. You definitely can't miss my family tree when you come into the house. When Big Daddy was still here, he even invited strangers to come in a see "what the kids had done". You'll notice James' branch on the right is full of pictures of him. Life did not give him enough time to expand his limb with pictures of a wife and kids. Also, notice the branch in the middle of the tree. It is standing tall and straight, keeping the tree from flopping too far to the left or the right. That's my limb.


Seeing the tree, of course, always bring back memories. Today, I recalled the final days of both James and Big Daddy's lives. Tomorrow marks the 24th anniversary of James' death. On the Saturday prior to the Tuesday he died, I was returning Big Daddy to Tennessee from a visit with James at Mike's home in Alabama. Big Daddy was having a hard time saying goodbye. He knew that James' time was short. From across the room, James called out to Big Daddy: "Don't worry Dad. No matter what, I'm going to be okay!"


Following a visit with Big Daddy at the Celina nursing home, Mother was kissing him goodbye. He said to her: "Don't worry about me. I am ready to go home." To which she replied, "Don't you worry about me. You go on home when it is time."


Tomorrow, I have two doctor visits to hopefully find some answers and solutions to why after cataract surgery in April, I have lost vision in my right eye. They have run me through all kinds of tests including a biopsy of the artery running beside my right ear to my brain. Friday, I am scheduled for a bone marrow biopsy. After 15 years of making too much blood, last fall my body's system flip-flopped and now I don't make enough red cells and am severely anemic. (Enroll in Medicare and see what happens . . .)


My prayer tonight will be that I face the uncertainties of these issues with the same confidence, faith and courage as my baby brother and Big Daddy! I am just hoping it runs in my family tree.


49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page