top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaren Anita Davis

This is my song: Let Me Live in the Light

You couldn’t turn on the national news and commentary broadcasts in the last six months without someone being introduced as an expert in such-and-such field and “I see you have a new book out. I’ve read it and it is wonderful.”

Guess what? I have a new book out or rather a booklet. I’m a storyteller of few words. For this holiday season, I published a few of the stories I have shared at our Christmas Open House events at Grandpa’s House. However, I did not include one of my favorite holiday stories. I’ll share it now.

For nearly 20 years (my last “real” job), I worked for a woman of Jewish heritage. She always honored the holidays of her Jewish faith and tradition, typically, by staying away from the office and not answering her cell phone. This way she could devote the day(s) to honoring the reason for the holiday. Sometimes she would travel to her mother’s home in New Jersey. Many years she celebrated in her own home in Tennessee.

One year she was at home for the Jewish holiday of Hanukkah. I remember one of her employees asking me where she was and why she wasn’t available. She asked me to tell her the story of Hanukkah. I related the story as best I could. To me it is a story in which all can find hope. The story is not mentioned in the Jewish scriptures (Torah) or the Bible. It is a story of faith and trust in their God from their history. It is considered a “minor” festival today but, it is one of the most beloved holidays among our Jewish friends. Also known as the “Festival of Lights”, the story occurred during one of the darkest times in Jewish history.

It was by command of their God that the candle stick holder or Menorah in their temple be kept burning. It was a sign of the presence of their God. The temple was a place dedicated to worshipping their God. It was a holy place to be treated with honor and dignity. When their enemy captured the holy city of Jerusalem, the practice and customs of their faith were banned. Observance of the Sabbath and all festival days were forbidden. Beyond that, the enemy completed the defilement of the temple by bringing inside images of their gods and demanding the Jews worship the foreign gods or die! The temple was renamed after the Greek god, Zeus.

A rebellion arose led by Judah Maccabee. After some bloody battles, the city was eventually restored to the Jews. When the Maccabean rebels entered the temple, they immediately relit the candle. The spiritual leaders began the task of re-dedicating the temple to their God when they realized there was just a day’s supply of oil available to keep the flame burning. Their God required a certain oil, pure and dedicated to the service of keeping the fire of the presence of their God burning. It would be a long journey to find the fuel.

The priests wanted so badly for the oil in the lamp to continue burning, once lit, that they prayed. While others traveled to secure the necessary oil, others prayed that the light would not go out. It would be eight days before the necessary supplies were at the temple. The fire did not go out!

When I got to this part of the story, my co-worker asked if it was true -- that one day's oil would burn for eight days. I replied: “It is enough that they (our Jewish neighbors) believe it to be true.” The miracle of the oil is remembered each year during Hanukkah (“dedication”). Eight candles in the Menorah are lit, one each day to mark the eight days of prayer and re-dedication to their God.

The story of the miracle of the one day’s supply of oil is a story of hope and trust when everything points to darkness and failure. It is a story that should lift us all up, no matter our religious fervor. I believe in a God who said: “Let there be light!” and “I AM the light of the world”. As the light burning in the temple was a sign of the presence of their God, I believe the light of the love of God burns in me. This holiday season, I wish for you the same safe, secure presence of the light of God in your life.

My sister Kay and I used to sing this old gospel song:


Let Him always walk beside me. Let Him take my, hand and guide me. Let me live, in the light of His love.

Till I reach that great tomorrow where there'll be no pain and sorrow Let me live in the light of His love Let me live (let me live*). Let me live (let me live). In the light (in the light) His love can give (who can give) Let it shine (let it shine) like the sun (like the sun) up above (up above) Let me live (let me live); Let me live (let me live) Every night (every night) and every day (every day) Let me live (let me live) in the light of His love If my soul is heavy laden, seems like all my dreams are fadin’ Let me live in the light of his love For a hard past, filled with sadness; He can touch and, fill with gladness Let me live, in the light of his love Let me live (let me live); Let me live (let me live) In the light (in the light) His love can give (who can give) Let it shine (let it shine) like the sun (like the sun) up above (up above) Let me live (let me live); Let me live (let me live) Every night (every night) and every day (every day) Let me live (let me live) in the light of His love (His love).

-- Charley Pride


*Kay sang the words in the parentheses



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page