top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaren Anita Davis

This is my song: Master, the Tempest is Raging

Updated: Apr 16, 2020

I was driving my usual route to work one stormy morning a few years ago. As I drove the multi-lane highway between Gallatin and Goodlettsville, I was singing. Surprised? I sang: "Master, the tempest is raging, the billows are tossing high, the sky is o'er shadowed with blackness . . . " as I watched a bolt of lightning dance across the sky and make contact with my car! I immediately lost all power. Blessedly, I was in the far right lane and coasted to the side of the road and stopped with a definite THUD.


The tempest has certainly been raging the last few months. In early March, tornadoes tore through East Nashville, Mt. Juliet, Lebanon and did the most devastation in a city just on the other side of my home county - Cookeville. Without taking more than a breath or two, the entire world was hit with a deadly virus and our government ordered us to stay home and closed all "non-essential" businesses and places of employment. Work and play at home became the daily routine of most of the USA. Then on Easter Sunday, the South was hit again by tornadoes in Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Georgia and again in Tennessee. Wow, what a tempest!


How do we react to the storms of life? Run for shelter? Have you seen the video of the man in Mississippi that placed his wife, two small children and himself inside an interior closet that was actually a concrete storm shelter. After the storm passed, the man found their entire home a pile of rubble. All that stood was their concrete haven.


We all need a haven of peace in the midst of the storms of life. Whether it be sickness, death, loss of wealth or property. We all need a shelter. The old hymn continues:


No shelter or help is nigh;

Carest Thou not that we perish?

How canst Thou lie asleep,

When each moment so madly is threat’ning

A grave in the angry deep?


For those in a trusting relationship with a Heavenly Father, an Almighty God find shelter within his arms. Where do you find yourself in April, 2020? In turmoil, in confusion, in frustration, in pain, in loss? As the story in Mark 4:36-41 teaches, we are not alone in our storms.


I have heard folks say that lightning will not strike you in a car because of the rubber tires. I found out on that early stormy morning that that is not always true. Why was I in the far right lane? How was able to coast safely to the side of the road without being slammed by another car or truck trying to get to work on time in the pouring rain? Happenstance, fate, or the hand of God? The Mississippi family ran to the place they trusted to protect them from the storm. Where do you run when life hits you like a bolt of lightning?


Precious Lord, take my hand. Lead me on, let me stand. I'm tired, I'm weak, I'm worn. Through the storm, through the night lead me on to the light. Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home.





21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page