top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaren Anita Davis

This is my story: American Pride

In an effort to clean up and organize my office the other day I came across an essay I had written in the sixth grade. It was in response to an essay contest the school was promoting. The theme of the contest was: Why I am Proud to be an American. I won the writing contest. Along with a small cash prize, I was invited to read it in front of all the parents and teachers at the next PTA meeting. My dad was so proud of me. I think it was the only school function he ever attended on my behalf. He would mention it several times over the next few decades. Below was what was in the heart of an 11-year-old more than 50 years ago:


I, Karen Anita Davis, am proud to have citizenship in the country of America. Why? Because there is no other country such as this. With its loyal and devoted men and women who try to make America a better America. I'm proud to be a citizen of a nation who is always out trying to be help other nations in need. I'm proud to be in a nation with such history as America.


Americans have hope and trust that it will be greater and better governed nation so it will overcome the nation's problems. America, America, the land of the free and the home of the brave is a phrase in a great patriotic song, which has touched the hearts of many. Truly we as Americans should be proud of the land of the free and the home of the brave. Our America!


Simple words, perhaps. I must admit, I did correct a few grammar and punctuation errors as I typed (not all) -- my hands just couldn't help it. Pride seems to at the heart of this simple essay and the heart of our current state of affairs in the United States of America. Huh, "united"? Divisions have always existed in this country. As has hatred, anger, bigotry and selfish pride. Do you think those founders agreed 100% on how to form our republic? Did those words, concepts, hopes and promises written in ink come easily or after much discussion, give-and-take, reasoning with one another?


Reasoning. The preacher read a verse from the book of Isaiah in his sermon yesterday about "reasoning with God". My mind went somewhere else from the man's message. My apologies to him, my mind does that often. I began to recall those characters in God's story that "reasoned with" Him. Moses reasoned with Him when God was angry with the gold calf incident at Mt. Sinai. Job reasoned with his God about the pain and destruction in his personal life. David reasoned with God about how long would He wait to defeat His enemies. The prophets reasoned with God about saving His people from the sin and anguish they had created for themselves. Even Jesus reasoned with God when he prayed: "Let this cup pass. But, not my will but your will be done."


To reason is to have a discussion, to share idea, needs and desires. To reason is to weigh the good and the evil in the balance of what is best for all involved -- what is right!


I don't know fully how to remove hate, anger and bigotry from people's hearts. I do believe it is a heart issue. I don't believe it can be removed with violence, with destruction, with theft, with murder, with angry words. All people must come together in a calm spirit with a "hope and trust that it will be a greater and better governed nation" when we reason together to "overcome the nation's problems".


And if a house is divided against itself,

that house will not be able to stand.

-- Jesus, the Christ (Mark 3:25)

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page